I wrote a much longer post, in which I detailed what I liked and didn’t like about the movie. After I was finished, I realized that all I was doing was re-hashing what my “esteemed” colleagues have already stated. So, instead of critiquing the movie, I’ve decided to scrap my earlier draft (just assume it was ridiculously well written and insightful) and critique my blog-mates’ posts (which I’m sure they’ll all love and end up falling all over themselves inviting me to do other blogs with them).


First, Brian. Brian was first with his post and so set the bar. I have to say, I appreciate the time he put into referencing other movies. And, though it pains me to admit it, I agree with most of his comparisons. However, comparing the baptism seen in The Godfather, to the government infiltration scene in American Gangster – in my mind – can only be made at a very high and structural level. Anything else is an insult to Coppola’s masterpiece. Brian’s commentary on the “distracting journeys” into Det. Roberts personal life and the dirty cops headed by Josh Brolin are, for the most part, accurate. I don’t abhor them as much as Brian, but I definitely agree that they could have been handled much better. All in all, I liked Brian’s post and agreed with large portions of it. I give it 9 out of 10.

(One other quick note: I’m pretty sure that Brian meant to say “forgettable” in the first line of paragraph six. Otherwise, that sentence doesn’t make much sense.)

On to Jared. Unfortunately Jared decided to write a post that I completely agree with. And you have no idea how much that annoys me. Barring his ability to work in romantic comedy references into every situation and his very creepy obsession with Cuba Gooding, he makes excellent points. Good for people reading it, bad for people trying to critique it. 8.5 out of 10. (Yes, he loses 1 point for Sleepless and Cuba, and he loses another .5 for lack of originality…since he allowed Brian to post first.

Finally, we come to John’s post. He is in the same situation as Jared – and, ultimately, me. The previous bloggers have mentioned summed up the movie and its failings very well, and there is little more to do than to pick out a couple of annoying pieces and bring them to everyone’s attention. This is not to say that I don’t agree with John’s piece. He brings up a number of good points in regards to the overall movie, Denzel and Russell’s roles, the contrasting of Lucas’s and Robert’s lifestyles, and the anti-climatic discovery of Lucas’s transportation methods. I, however, disagree with his “Oscars perspective.” I think the Academy should stiff everyone involved. Send a message that if a movie doesn’t meet it’s potential, it doesn’t deserve to be on stage. And now, back to reality… I give John’s post a respectable 8 out of 10.

As for my own post, I give myself a 7 – a solid, above average showing. Props for originality, but I lost points for style, content, and taste. Luckily I’m giving myself a break, as it’s my first post.

