Yeah, the title of this post is a When In Rome reference.  You wanna make something of it? 

I forgot this movie pretty much as soon as I finished watching it.  I’m writing this recap a few weeks after watching the movie, and I think I can vividly remember maybe five scenes.  One, of course, is the bathroom fight scene.  Which is notable not just for the extent of the nudity, but for the dichotomy of badassitude and sensitivity it bring to the table.  I would not be surprised in the least if they filmed the scene first and then hired a scriptwriter to make up a story around it.  Or at least sold the backers based on the scene.  It will, without a doubt, be one of my favorite movie scenes of the year.

I realize I’m in the minority, but I find the screenplay categories to be the most “Important” because, to me, all the other ones feed off of the screenplay.  But that’s an argument for a different forum.  The point here is that I don’t think the script allowed for anyone to shine through.  Given the overall tone of the movie, I can maybe see how some trailers or rough cuts would have led to the early Oscar buzz the movie received, but ultimately I think the Academy will rightly let this one slip away into the night.  Only to resurface twenty years down the road in a 20 second snippet as people politely applaud Cronenberg receiving some sort of lifetime achievement award.  So ultimately, a pleasant enough way to spend a couple of hours, but I wouldn’t really expect it to receive any special consideration.

A stronger movie may have assured Viggo a nomination, but he’s currently right on the bubble in the battle for those last two spots.  I’ve yet to see most of the performances in contention for Best Actor, but I think I’d give Mr. Mortensen the nod over both Tom Hanks and Emile Hirsch, much as that might pain me.  So while I wouldn’t be surprised if I ultimately end up putting him in my top five, I’m pretty skeptical I’ll end up saying it was the best performance of 2007.

