Much as it pains me to admit it, I agree with Jared on this one.  I was a big fan of the last Cronenberg/Mortensen outing A History of Violence, but this one was lacking.  As Jared stated, I don’t think it was a question of bad acting or directing, the screenplay was too weak to allow anyone to shine.  There were a couple of good scenes that were like bright lights in an otherwise dismal night, but these were too few to be able to make me highly recommend the movie. 


I am going to also have to agree with Jared about the bathroom scene.  It was one of the best scenes all year and it alone increased my ranking of the movie by at least a point.  I liked Viggo in this movie, but I don’t think I would be able to give him the nomination.  However, I wouldn’t blame the Academy if they did.

I really feel like they dropped the ball with this movie.  The script and plot could have been so much more and with Cronenberg and Mortensen the film had real potential.  I can only hope that these two collaborate again sometime soon and are more selective with their material.  As Jared said (and, with heavy heart, I agree again) the screenplay is, probably, the most important part of a movie.  The best actors and directors in the world can’t make a great movie out of a bad script.

