This was a great movie.  I had no idea what to expect going in, but I came out thoroughly enjoying this film.  Brian actually had the same sentiment as I did leaving the theater, namely, for what it set out to accomplish it was nearly flawless in its execution.  In fact, Brian does a very good job in his review of the piece, so I’ll just jot down a couple of things I also noted during the movie.  (Note to self: In future, pick people you disagree with more when writing a blog.  Agreeing with people is much less satisfying than criticizing them.)

The movie had one of the creepiest openings of any movie I’ve seen.  The cheerleading grandmothers were just weird – but, it set the tone for the rest of the film.  The thing I liked most about this film was the superb performances from Linney and Hoffman.  They are two of the best actors out there and they really got into their roles.  The sibling interplay between them was fantastic.  I also really liked the camera work, including the filter they used.    

Some great scenes which I think give a sense of the movie include when Wendy and Larry are having sex and Wendy has more of a connection with the dog; when Wendy and Jon are sitting on the couch with the balloon for their dad and are talking to their dad’s girlfriend’s family; the discussion between Jon and Wendy when Jon’s head is in the sling; when Jon and Wendy go to the support group; the “red pillow incident”; when Jon and Wendy are talking to their father about his death in the diner.  These are just a few of the scenes that really struck me while watching the movie.

For the most part, though, I agree with what Brian wrote, so I’ll cop out and refer you to his post for a more in-depth look at this thoroughly enjoyable movie.

