Excuse me?  Did I hear you say something about other women?

Excuse me? Did I hear you say something about other women?

Conversations with Other Women is unlike any other movie I’ve seen.  The film’s unique style, though, clearly needs some refinement.

Taking place over the course of a single evening, It stars Aaron Eckhart and Helena Bonham Carter who seem to hit it off when meeting during a wedding reception and take things back to her hotel room.  There’s actually an interesting twist in the middle, so my description doesn’t quite do it justice.  I’ve decided I’m a pretty big Eckhart fan, for the record.  Thomas Lennon has a bit part, as does Olivia Wilde, and the male lead from I Know Who Killed Me.  And supporting are Eric Eidem and Nora Zehetner (evil chick from Brick) as Young Man and Young Woman, respectively.

You see, most of the movies is done in split screen.  The majority of the time the split shows different cameras on Eckhart and Carter, but sometimes it shows Eidem and Zehetner.  The split screen effect is jarring at first.  That feeling soon gave way to bemusement.  Then I was impressed.  And finally, a bit put off.  Ultimately, I found the constant split screen to be distracting and unnecessary.  Since I’d never seen such extensive use of the split screen, I thought it was pretty inventive, and definitely a neat tack to take with a movie like this, where the film is almost entirely an extended conversation between two people.  But since it became overbearing at times, I guess I thought some fine tuning would be in order.

Gabrielle Zevin’s script was good, not great.  I appreciated much about it: the young man and woman, the twists, the ending, and the fact that it managed to keep my attention, besides not all too much going on.  Still, the split screen occasionally felt like a crutch used to support weak parts in the script.  And sure, the tale of two middle-aged people probably resonates a bit better with someone more in that age bracket.

The film is probably still worth seeing.  At the very least, it is a good change of pace movie.  And I certainly hope Zevin and director Hans Canosa progress, because I could see the movie being a first step to greater things.

Three Stars (7.0 on imdb, 74% on RT, 3.1 on Netflix)

Trailer after the jump:

