I’m kind of curious as to who actually loved Revolutionary Road.  As near as I can figure, it cater to people who want their philosophy of “Life sucks and then you die” affirmed.  But only in the American middle class definition of “sucks,” of course.  Oh, wait, I got it.  People who found Titanic insufferable and knew deep down that if Leo and Kate had ended up together, they’d be absolutely miserable.

Otherwise, I don’t know.  The film is ninety minutes of DiCaprio and Winslet whining at each other.  Which is exactly as much fun as it sounds like.  John asks if people sympathize with one character over the other.  It is a good question, the answer to which probably reveals something about ourselves.  Other than bros before, um, gardening tools, I’d offer that neither is particularly likable.  Which I guess is sort of interesting in that in the movie they are repeatedly referred to as the “fun” couple, but really I’d rather hang out with just about any other character in the movie.

That’s all I got.  The film is pretty clearly failed Oscar-bait.  It isn’t bad, but it drags, is repetitive and doesn’t have much in the way of redeeming qualities.  I felt after filming they went back and inserted a few soliloquies nearly at random for Kate Winslet in an effort to bolster her Oscar chances.  Because if there is one thing people like more than whiny characters, it is whiny characters who drone on.

I hinted at it above, but I guess I sorta liked all the minor characters.  Kathy Bates had been tipped by some for a nomination, which is silly in my mind, but she was fun.  I enjoyed Kate and Leo’s neighbors, and I think I would have much more love for the movie if they featured more prominently.  And Leo’s co-workers were all very amusing, in a film that could have benefited from more comic relief.

And then there’s Michael Shannon.  Call me a dreamer, but I think I just might start a Michael Shannon for Bond villain bandwagon.  His character pretty much runs roughshod over the movie.  I mean, his character is a well-worn plot device and it is probably misused, but a definite breath of fresh air.  So yeah, his awesomeness is probably amplified by the more subdued nature of the rest of the film.  But the nomination is still deserved, I’d say.

