Well, John wrote the post I’d been planning, so he is a bum.  But I’ll jump on the bandwagon and share some films I can’t wait to see (in some sort of vague order, though my list is already at fifty, so I’m sure I missed a few):

An Education. Mostly because Nick Hornby wrote the screenplay and he is all kinds of awesome.  Carey Mulligan (is it just me, or does she look a lot like Michelle Williams?) is poised to break out as a result of her starring turn here, but the supporting cast (Peter Saarsgaard, Alfred Molina, Dominic Cooper, Rosamund Pike, Olivia Williams, Emma Thompson, Sally Hawkins) ain’t too shabby.

Precious. See, this is why I love the Oscars (and why I don’t really believe in the concept of acting).  A year ago, if anyone had suggested Mo’Nique could have a legit shot at an Oscar nom, you would have laughed.  I would have laughed.  And, at least in my case, it wouldn’t have been disrespectful, just that the type of roles she plays aren’t generally the ones the Academy deigns to acknowledge.  And yet here we are.

The Box.  Twilight Zone?  Yes, please.

Couples Retreat. Not that it will get Oscar love, but the movie was co-written by Vince Vaughn and Jon Favreau, directed by Peter Billingsley, and I’d watch pretty much anything half the other people are in.

A Single Man.  I don’t know if it will make a 2009 release, but festival buzz is high and Colin Firth is awesome.  Plus, there’s no way I miss a movie with Ginnifer Goodwin and Lee Pace.

Dare. Only this low because I don’t necessarily believe IMDb’s release date for the film.  Emmy Rossum, Zach Gilford, and Kate Mara’s sister in a high school drama?  Yeah, that’ll do.

Up in the Air. I was impressed with the script, and the reviews have been glowing.

Women in Trouble.  For its artistic merits.  I swear.

Also: Bright Star (can’t get me enough Paul Schneider), Zombieland, St. Trinian’s (because, come on, how is this a real movie?), Pirate Radio (Richard Curtis is my dawg) and Ong Bak 2.

