As always, the standard caveat about the Golden Globes applies.  The voting body (the HFPA) is a mysterious organization with a known record of catering to stars and hot (in both sense of the word) young actresses.  Which, you know, isn’t this blight on humanity some people make it out to be.  If I were hosting a party and could get George Clooney to come by making a few compromises, well, that’s a no brainer.  Also, they are one of the few bodies that recognizes the existence of comedies.

Let’s start with the good.  As you’ve no doubt been following our top fives, you know that Adam and I are really big fans of The Guard.  So we were both rather giddy at seeing Brendan Gleeson to get a nom for Actor in a Comedy or Musical.  I’m still working my way through probable contender, but Gleeson’s performance was better than those of at least two actors who will be nominated.

Haven’t seen Albert Nobbs yet, so I can’t speak to the worthiness, but Glenn Close received a much-needed boost this week.  The story heading into awards season was how long and how much effort it took her to get the film made and how it was such a challenging, defining role.  But she’d largely been off of lists, so it seemed like she needed to pick up momentum with the nominations that came out this week.

I also haven’t yet seen We Need to Talk About Kevin, but neither has or will anyone else, so Tilda Swinton need to stay in the conversation as much and as frequently as possible.  In a similar vein, the buzz surrounding Leo DiCaprio died pretty much the second everyone realized the film was so blah, and so while a Globe nom wasn’t surprising, given how big a star he is, a snub might well have been a death knell.  The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and A Dangerous Method were thought to have a chance at awards, it seems like their late releases may be hurting them with the precursors, so Rooney Mara and Viggo Mortensen really needed these noms.

Since I’m mentioning Jessica Chastain, I’m legally obligated to say that she’s been in six movies this year in one of the greatest breakout years ever.  Everyone knew she should be considered for awards, they just couldn’t figure out for which performance.  Seems like the awards world has settled on her horse being The Help.

As for the bad, the first thing Brian, John, and I all said after seeing the nominations was: “What about the Muppets?!”  I was, frankly, predicting it to get a best comedy/musical nod.  But how did it get shut out of the song category?  Just a travesty.

There’s sucking up to George Clooney and then there’s making fools of yourselves.  The HFPA moved into the latter category by swooning over The Ides of March.  I mean, sheesh, didn’t they read my write up?  It is rather unremarkable movie that I think everyone had forgotten existed.

I’m a huge Ryan Gosling fan (Lars and the Real Girl 4 life!), and I (unsurprisingly, I’m sure) really liked Crazy, Stupid, Love.  But that’s a clear case of category fraud, in my book.  If pressed, I could argue there was no lead, but if the film had to have one, it was pretty clearly Steve Carell.

And there’s no point in getting worked up over the TV noms, as the HFPA pretty clearly hasn’t watched much television.  I mean, New Girl over Parks and Rec?  That’s just inconceivable.  Anyway, let’s be happy for the Homeland noms as well as the one for Madeleine Stowe.  Yay Revenge!

Finally, I just wanted to say that I find the trend of having actors read off nomination lists to be quite amusing.  On one hand, it is kind of bizarre, asking actors to read twenty names off a list.  But it is kinda interesting to see these people a little out of their element.  So you get Judy Greer’s giddiness at friends and co-workers, Woody Harrelson working the crowd like a boss and pimping his movie, and Sofia Vergara valiant attempt to pronounce “Hazanavicius” before shrugging it off.

