The 84th Academy Awards is almost here! Leading up to the event, we’re going to put all the hours we spent watching these films to good use by giving our thoughts on all the categories, big and small. We may not be experts on everything, but I daresay that’s never stopped anyone from blogging before. On the (very remote chance) you disagree with us or the (much more likely chance) you want to applaud our picks, please chime in below.

Costume Design

The nominees are:

  • Anonymous, Lisy Christl
  • The Artist, Mark Bridges
  • Hugo, Sandy Powell
  • Jane Eyre, Michael O’Connor
  • W.E., Arianne Phillips

JARED

I’m spectacularly unqualified to write about this category, as anyone who has seen me attempt to dress myself will attest.  But I’m a completist, dammit.  Also, I didn’t make it to W.E., because it was only playing in Shirlington, which as we all know, is a fictional place.  Let’s pretend it was out of protest for Immortals not getting a nod.  Because, seriously, the junk the wore in that movie was friggin’ nuts.

Otherwise, I’m sorta struck by how the costuming in these nominees was relatively subtle.  At least, I couldn’t really tell you much about the costumes in any of these films, because nothing stuck out much in particular.  Anonymous was typical Elizabethan garb, with those crazy collars.  So many collars.  The Artist had…um…suits and flapper dresses, maybe?  The dog maybe wore a collar.  Hugo did have some cool outfits in the flashbacks to the old movies, I’ll give it that.  But let’s give it to Jane Eyre.  No, not just so I can justify watching the bore of the movie.  Because I do remember noting that the dresses weren’t as loud or ostentatious as you’d normally find in these movies.  And other people seemed to like it a lot.

ADAM

Anonymous

 
