Just realized this has been sitting in drafts for about a month, but it is OK because I don’t think anyone actually cares about The Comedy Awards.  Nominations are here.

COMEDY FILM

  • The Artist
  • Bridesmaids
  • Crazy, Stupid, Love.
  • Horrible Bosses
  • Midnight in Paris

So this lineup is actually better than what was nominated for best picture at the Oscars.  Though it is a complete outrage that The Muppets was snubbed here.  Especially so Horrible Bosses could get in.  That’s just silly.  I also would have slotted 50/50  and Paul ahead of both Bridesmaids and Midnight in Paris, though I can’t really get too worked up over that, I suppose.

PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR – FILM

  • Jason Bateman – Horrible Bosses
  • Steve Carell – Crazy, Stupid, Love.
  • Jean Dujardin – The Artist
  • Zach Galifianakis – The Hangover Part II
  • Owen Wilson – Midnight in Paris

I haven’t seen The Hangover Part II, so I can’t speak to that.  Jason Bateman is fine, but I think Joseph Gordon-Levitt in 50/50 would have been a better choice.  Patton Oswalt in Young Adult too.  Other contenders: Alan Tudyk – Tucker and Dale Vs. Evil, Justin Timberlake – Friends with Benefits, and Paul Rudd – Our Idiot Brother.

PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS – FILM

  • Jennifer Aniston – Horrible Bosses
  • Cameron Diaz – Bad Teacher
  • Melissa McCarthy – Bridesmaids
  • Emma Stone – Crazy, Stupid, Love.
  • Kristen Wiig – Bridesmaids

Well, it is pretty difficult to argue with any category that includes Emma Stone.  Diaz and McCarthy are also locks.  I think the Wiig is the weak link here, and I’d be willing to hear arguments against Aniston (who was surprisingly refreshing in the role).  Charlize Theron is an interesting counterpoint to Cameron Diaz and absolutely should have been included over Wiig.  If we are going for supporting actresses in a fun role, then Helen Mirren from Arthur should have been here.  A little surprised Berenice Bejo didn’t make the cut.  I think My Week with Marilyn should qualify and so Michelle Williams should be here, but I understand why it wasn’t included.  Carla Gugino in Elektra Luxx, maybe?  I’d have taken Mila Kunis and Natalie Portman from their romantic comedies over Wiig.  If Something Borrowed counts, then both Ginnifer Goodwin and Kate Hudson.  And my way out there pick, Mandy Moore from the truly terrible Love, Wedding, Marriage.  Point is, it was actually a pretty decent year for actresses in comedy, and Wiig probably isn’t in my top 20.

COMEDY DIRECTOR – FILM

  • Woody Allen – Midnight in Paris
  • James Bobin – The Muppets
  • Paul Feig – Bridesmaids
  • Glenn Ficarra and John Requa – Crazy, Stupid, Love.
  • Michel Hazanavicius – The Artist

You know what?  I think this is exactly right.  And sure, Hazanavicius should win, but you might be surprised to learn that Ficarra and Requa should be a close second.

COMEDY SCREENPLAY – FILM

  • 50/50
  • Bridesmaids
  • Crazy, Stupid, Love.
  • Horrible Bosses
  • Midnight in Paris

So Horrible Bosses took a decent idea and left out the humor, it clearly doesn’t belong here.  Let’s put The Muppets in and call it a night.

